Harrick's Cottage and its surrounding buildings are an example of early pioneer building in the Melbourne region.
The earliest surviving part is a pole and scantling framed hut, probably built in 1861-62 by tenant farmer James Harrick. In 1883 Harrick acquired the land and added a new timber and weatherboard addition of four rooms in front of the original hut. The property remained in the Harrick family until 1929.
The archive collection at Sam Merrifield
Library holds a number of unique items that form part of our Local
History Collection. Most of the items are paper based and include books,
manuscripts, cashbooks, ledgers, work catalogues and pattern books, but
the archive also includes more diverse items such as dress making
specimens and a boys woollen cap.
the next few months we will be highlighting a number of these items and
asking the public for any information they may have about the
businesses, families or events that we may mention. Items in the
archive are available to view by arrangement with library staff.
W. E. Coutts Collection
Our first collection of note are the records of local builder W.E. Coutts whose business ran from the early 1900’s to the 1970s. The records are an important source of information about local building trends over that time and include house plans and blue prints along with correspondence, books, ledgers, cashbooks, day books, casebooks and contracts of sale.
If you have any information about this local builder please post a comment.